Ejoying my easter sunday with my yellow feathered friend

Today has been a great day for bouncy and me; we have eaten, napped, eaten, played, eaten, napped, eaten, watched a few episodes of Boston Legal, napped and snacked all day. He seems to love to eat, snuggle and sleep as I. Well… he poops more often than I 🙂

I have read that these guys love fruits so today we are testing his fruit eating. So far he loves oranges (specially tangerines), papaya & pears. I gave him a fresh mango which he paid little attention to and star fruit which on the first encounter appeared not to provoke him but this second time around he seemed to care as you can see in the attached photo.

In order to find highest source of energy and nourishment I am sprouting sunflower seeds and corn. I believe by sprouting them I will achieve not only a higher source of nourishment for my bird, but I will also get more volume for the money. Make note that the sunflower seed looses fat content in the sprouting process and they both increase in volume and Nourishment as a sprout. Next step is to find out if the bird actually approves of these sprouts.

* How to sprout the seeds:   Simply put the seeds (half the amount of the total volume you want) in a bowl and add warm water until it covers all the seeds. Note that sunflower seeds will tend to float until they are soaked. So, Soak them! Let them soak for 24 hours and just strain the water. Let sit for another 24-48 hours.

*Vitamins: I personally thought that petshop vitamins were a watered down vitamin placebo. After some research comparing “Vita-Sol” with other avian vitamins (including those expensive ones intended for price cockfighting champs) and my vote goes hands down to “Vita-sol”…Bottom line; more for less (a lot more) and readily available EVERYWHERE!

Ok, lets recap; they (at least mine) love fruit, we’ll be trying sprouts and “Vita-sol” gets more bang for your buck. I will be researching antibiotics and safe sources of protein for “Bouncy” my loveable Lutino Indian Ringneck

Bouncy (IR) Eating Star Fruit

Bouncy eating Starfruit

Committed to excellence,

Dr. Firewalker

Leave a comment